2023 PiNA Design Contest


Now we need your help to pick the best entry in each category!

Grand Prize Award – Finalists

(Column A)

Kelly Bull, Colorado Springs, CO, Homestead Design
Rita Ebeling, Ogden, UT, Farming for Those Facing Homelessness
Kurtis Howes, Duncan, BC, Water Management 
Mark Lakeman, Portland, OR, Community Housing
Jasmine Oberste, Cowichan, BC, Social Permaculture

New Designer Award – Finalists

(Column B)

Rita Ebeling, Ogden, UT, Farming for Those Facing Homelessness
Jasmine Oberste, Cowichan, BC, Social Permaculture
Kristyn Tinney, Penetanguishene, Ont., Homestead Design
Dayana Valdes, Miami FL, School Garden Enhancement

Vote NOW between 11/10/23 and 11/28/23.
Winners will be notified around 12/01/23.

PINA Design Contest FAQ’s

Why are the duplicate entries under both categories?

Our judges carefully analyzed each and every entry and gave each one a rating.  Two of the highest-rated designs came from designers who were also recent graduates of a PDC.  Therefore, they qualified for both categories.

Who is allowed to vote for their favorite design?

Voting is open to PINA members only.  If you are not a PINA member, you can easily become one by signing up for one of our low cost membership plans.

Who were the judges of the PINA Permaculture Design Contest?

The judges for this year’s Permaculture Design Contest included PINA Board and Staff members: Peter Bane, Matt Bennett, Gloria Flora, Jane Hayes, Elizabeth Lynch, & Bob Randall.

How many times can we vote?

You can vote for one design in each category between 11/10-11/28.

What are the rules for the design contest?

You can find the rules for the design contest by clicking this link.  Viewing the rules will help you make a more qualified vote.

How can I vote?

You can vote for your favorite design, by following this link.

Hurry Up!

Voting Period is OPEN until Nov 28

Past Design Contest Winners

Inform your decision on who to vote for by reviewing past winners of the Permaculture Design Challenge.  You can see what it takes to determine whether or not a project deserves to take top honors.